How to Install WFE using AutoSPinstaller

Oct 5, 2011 at 2:43 PM
Edited Oct 5, 2011 at 2:43 PM

Hi all,

I am new to this Autospinstaller script. I have used this script one time before. It works great for Standalone server installation. But If I have 1 app server, 2 Wfe server,1 fast search.... how I should be using it to do the Wfe installation and other app search for search. please let me know how to do it. thanks...

Regards

Shaan Singh

Coordinator
Oct 13, 2011 at 3:53 PM

Essentially you first need to plan out which servers/roles are going to host which services and service applications. Guidance for this is well beyond the scope of this script alone but fortunately there's lots of it out there. Then once you have determined on which servers the various components will run, it's just a matter of editing your XML input file accordingly - e.g. listing "WFESERVER1,WFESERVER2" in the appropriate section for a particular component, service or service app.

By the way, the FAST server is not part of the SharePoint farm in the sense that it doesn't actually have the SharePoint bits installed on it. Hence it's not covered by the AutoSPInstaller at all.

Hope this helps,
Brian

Dec 5, 2011 at 5:14 AM

Hey Brian,

Great Script!  But when you say add the WFE to the appropriate spots in the inputs.xml,  where is the appropriate spots?  I cant see anything relating to the web application role in the xml?  Also will you need to copy the install files to the WFE and run it from the WFE or will it use the remote powershell feature?

Many Thanks,

Dec 5, 2011 at 5:23 PM

Hi Max,

I believe you still need to run AutoSPInstaller on each server individually, however, you can use a single XML input file. The best way to do this is to put the files on a file share accessible to all SharePoint servers.

To specify which services are installed on which servers, you would put the "server name" in the appropriate spots, for example:

<ServiceApps>